Creating music: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

Deciding to follow my passion as a musician is the best thing that I have ever done. It made me realize that even though I’m that intellectually – left-brain users – I have struck a balance between being analytical and creative. Being able to re-create something beautiful and knowing that it is based on something exact is one of the good things in music.

If music be the food of love, play on. – William Shakespeare

However, everything must be taken with a grain of salt. This quite obvious when reading the actual scores and figuring-out the proper emotions to go with it. Apparently, it is quite a challenge to do so when shifting from different musical periods and composers. One moment I’m playing a Bach piece, after that I’m shifting to one of Haydn’s, then Grieg, and then Satie. You can the difficulty in doing so. Believe me when I tell you that it is comparable to having your hormones pureed then pured over you then expecting yourself to be able to switch from one emotion to another. This isn’t even the worst part.

Image

Of course, being a musician isn’t just about practicing. It also about being able to analyze scores, arranging pieces, and knowing the general history of music. The worst part in my opinion, since I am not gifted with a perfect pitch nor math skills, would be ear-training. In simple terms, I suck at it. I have difficulty knowing which note is being played and how to write it properly. I seriously need to find a method on how to study this. Else, I would see myself failing quite spectacularly. That would be quite ugly.

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. – Plato

However, despite all the challenges and pains one must endure, I think it is worth it. After all, if anything in this world could be achieved so easily, I’d probably be bored to tears by it.

2 thoughts on “Creating music: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

  1. Kuchuoka says:

    The path of a musician is of the heart and the mind. I would love to hear you play one day.

Leave a Reply

